ACCESS PERFORMANCES

"Being a disabled theatre lover, I love nothing more than going to the Festival Theatre in Edinburgh.

The standard of customer service in general, but particularly for a wheelchair user, is second to none. You get great attention from the moment you get to the front door. Taking you to your seating area, bringing drinks to you at the break and even assisting you with the door to the very roomy disabled toilet - nothing is too much bother and it is all done with charm and a smiling face.

There must be excellent training.

I go there regularly and often have a different member of staff at each visit but the care is equally as good with all of them. An added bonus is where the disabled seating area is in the theatre - just at the back of the front stalls giving a brilliant view of the whole stage. A definite 5 star experience!"

Carol Simpson, Customer

Important information 

*The position of the BSL Signer is if watching from the audience.

  • We make every effort to keep all access information up to date and correct. Where possible we will give as much information as we can.
  • It is not always possible to have the names of BSL interpreters, audio describers and the positioning of interpreters on stage.
  • Due to theatre companies not confirming which side of the stage the interpreter will be on, we can hold seats on both sides until confirmation. Please ask box office. 
  • Please keep checking this page as it will be updated as soon as we have information.

 Donna Ruane is the BSL Tour Interpreter

Spamalot

Thu 28th September 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 30th September 2:30pm
  • Audio described (Jo Barrow & Lydia Kerr)
  • BSL interpreted (Ian Hodgetts)

A Streetcar Named Desire

Sat 7th October 2:30pm
  • Audio described (Janette Knibb, Irene MacKenzie )
  • BSL interpreted (Ian Hodgetts)
  • Captioned

The Kite Runner

Thu 12th October 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 14th October 2:30pm
  • Audio described (Myra Galletly, Bridget Stevens )
  • BSL interpreted (Ian Hodgetts)

Hedda Gabler

Wed 18th October 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Fri 20th October 7:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted (Louise Holden )

Son Of A Preacher Man

Thu 19th October 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 21st October 2:30pm
  • Audio described (Judy Gilbert, Trica Weeks )

The Real Thing

Thu 26th October 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 28th October 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Rambert: A Linha Curva & Other Works

Fri 27th October 7:30pm
  • BSL interpreted (*Position- Right hand side)

Duet For One

Thu 2nd November 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 4th November 2:30pm
  • Audio described (Amanda Drollinger, Judy Shaw Stewart )
  • BSL interpreted (Shaurna Dickson )

The Steamie

Thu 9th November 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 11th November 2:30pm
  • Audio described (Jenny Wilson, Elspeth Davey )
  • BSL interpreted (Louise Holden, Jackie Greenshields )

Trainspotting

Thu 16th November 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 18th November 2:30pm
  • Audio described (Amanda Drollinger, John Cummings )
  • BSL interpreted (Nicolle Murdoch, Paul Belmonte )

Scottish Opera: La Traviata

Sun 19th November 3:00pm
  • Audio described

Edinburgh Gang Show

Sat 25th November 2:15pm
  • Audio described (Janette Knibb, Judy Gilbert)

Legally Blonde The Musical

Thu 30th November 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 2nd December 2:30pm
  • Audio described (Jo Barrow & Lydia Kerr)
  • BSL interpreted (Ian Hodgetts)

King's Panto 2017/18: Cinderella

Fri 15th December 7:00pm
  • Audio described (Rosie Wild, Alison Downey )
  • BSL interpreted (Shaurna Dickson, Paul Belmonte )
Sat 6th January 2:00pm
  • Audio described (Rosie Wild, Alison Downey )
  • BSL interpreted (Shaurna Dickson, Paul Belmonte )

The Nutcracker - Scottish Ballet

Sat 16th December 2:30pm
  • Audio described

Miss Saigon

Wed 31st January 7:30pm
  • Audio described
  • Captioned
Wed 7th February 7:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted (Donna Ruane (BSL Tour Interpreter))

Pressure

Wed 14th February 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 17th February 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Scottish Opera: Flight

Sat 3rd March 7:15pm
  • Audio described

Southern Light Opera presents Hello Dolly

Sat 10th March 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

The Bohemians Lyric Opera Company presents Footloose

Sat 17th March 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Northern Ballet's The Little Mermaid

Sat 24th March 2:30pm
  • Audio described

This House

Thu 29th March 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 31st March 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Scottish Opera: Ariadne Auf Naxos

Sat 7th April 7:15pm
  • Audio described

Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde

Thu 12th April 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 14th April 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Scottish Ballet: Matthew Bourne's Highland Fling

Fri 13th April 7:30pm
  • Audio described

War Horse

Thu 3rd May 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 5th May 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted (Donna Ruane (BSL Tour Interpreter))

Edinburgh Music Theatre presents Guys and Dolls

Fri 4th May 7:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Scottish Opera: Eugene Onegin

Thu 31st May 7:15pm
  • Audio described