ACCESS PERFORMANCES

"Being a disabled theatre lover, I love nothing more than going to the Festival Theatre in Edinburgh.

The standard of customer service in general, but particularly for a wheelchair user, is second to none. You get great attention from the moment you get to the front door. Taking you to your seating area, bringing drinks to you at the break and even assisting you with the door to the very roomy disabled toilet - nothing is too much bother and it is all done with charm and a smiling face.

There must be excellent training.

I go there regularly and often have a different member of staff at each visit but the care is equally as good with all of them. An added bonus is where the disabled seating area is in the theatre - just at the back of the front stalls giving a brilliant view of the whole stage. A definite 5 star experience!"

Carol Simpson, Customer

Important information 

*The position of the BSL Signer is if watching from the audience.

  • We make every effort to keep all access information up to date and correct. Where possible we will give as much information as we can.
  • It is not always possible to have the names of BSL interpreters, audio describers and the positioning of interpreters on stage.
  • Due to theatre companies not confirming which side of the stage the interpreter will be on, we can hold seats on both sides until confirmation. Please ask box office. 
  • Please keep checking this page as it will be updated as soon as we have information.

 Donna Ruane is the BSL Tour Interpreter

Not Dead Enough

Sat 29th April 2:30pm
  • Audio described (Maureen Woods, Tricia Weeks )
  • BSL interpreted (Nicolle Murdoch *Position- Right hand side))

Running Wild

Sat 6th May 2:30pm
  • Audio described (Rosie Wild, Sheena Guz )
  • BSL interpreted (Paul Micheals *Position- Right hand side))

Sasha Regan's All Male The Mikado

Thu 11th May 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Fri 12th May 7:30pm
  • Audio described (TBC, Rosie Wild )
  • BSL interpreted (Louise Holden *Position- Left hand side)

Matthew Bourne's The Red Shoes

Sat 13th May 2:30pm
  • Audio described (Janette Knibb, Amanda Drollinger )

Jane Eyre

Thu 18th May 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Fri 19th May 7:30pm
  • Audio described (Bridget Stevens, Judy Gilbert )
  • BSL interpreted (Nicolle Murdoch *Position- Right hand side)

Fantastic Mr Fox

Sat 20th May 2:30pm
  • Audio described (Jenny Wilson, Tricia Weeks )
  • BSL interpreted (Shaurna Dickson )

Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

Sat 27th May 2:30pm
  • Audio described (Maureen Woods, Bridget Stevens )
  • BSL interpreted (Paul Belmonte, Rachel Amey*Position- Right hand side)

Shirley Valentine

Sat 3rd June 2:30pm
  • Audio described (Janette Knibb, Clea Friend )
  • BSL interpreted (Ian Hodgetts)

The Wedding Singer

Thu 8th June 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 10th June 2:30pm
  • Audio described (Judy Gilbert, Lynsey Rogers )
  • BSL interpreted (Shaurna Dickson, Nicolle Murdoch *Position- left hand side)

Scottish Opera: La Boheme

Sat 10th June 7:15pm
  • Audio described

Death of a Salesman

Thu 22nd June 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 24th June 2:30pm
  • Audio described (Clea Friend & Judy Stewart )
  • BSL interpreted (Louise Holden )

Spamalot

Thu 28th September 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 30th September 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Love Letters

Thu 5th October 7:30pm
  • Captioned

Streetcar Named Desire

Sat 7th October 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted
  • Captioned

The Kite Runner

Thu 12th October 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 14th October 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Son Of A Preacher Man

Thu 19th October 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 21st October 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Rambert: A Linha Curva & Other Works

Fri 27th October 7:30pm
  • BSL interpreted (*Position- Right hand side)

The Steamie

Thu 9th November 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 11th November 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Trainspotting

Thu 16th November 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 18th November 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Scottish Opera: La Traviata

Sun 19th November 3:00pm
  • Audio described

Edinburgh Gang Show

Sat 25th November 2:15pm
  • Audio described

Legally Blonde The Musical

Thu 30th November 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 2nd December 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Miss Saigon

Wed 31st January 7:30pm
  • Audio described
  • Captioned
Wed 7th February 7:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted (Donna Ruane (BSL Tour Interpreter))

Scottish Opera: Flight

Sat 3rd March 7:15pm
  • Audio described

Southern Light Opera presents Hello Dolly

Sat 10th March 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

The Bohemians Lyric Opera Company presents Footloose

Sat 17th March 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Scottish Opera: Ariadne Auf Naxos

Sat 7th April 7:15pm
  • Audio described

Scottish Ballet's Highland Fling

Fri 13th April 7:30pm
  • Audio described

War Horse

Thu 3rd May 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 5th May 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted (Donna Ruane (BSL Tour Interpreter))

Edinburgh Music Theatre presents Guys and Dolls

Sat 5th May 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Scottish Opera: Eugene Onegin

Thu 31st May 7:15pm
  • Audio described